Twitter Drama!
Well, it wasn't exactly drama, but a buddy on twitter brought up the point of how many of the anti fighting in hockey crowd in MSM are also Pro MMA. We both agree, this stinks of hypocrisy.
Take out context like fightings role in hockey, and it being the component in sports like MMA and Boxing, the hot point for the anti hockey fighting crowd is concussions, and brain damage that has caused other medical issues (depression, drug abuse etc). So if the most damning issue facing fighting role in hockey is the players health, how can the crowd w/ an agenda against the enforcer role, and fighting in hockey, support a sport like MMA? Isn't this about the health of the athlete?
PK woes.
So Wilson is saying he will use a different group to kill the pk starting this week? Ok, the first question I have is, why has it taken this long to shake things up? I expect the only player that should remain on the current group is Dupuis. He likely wouldn't get any ice time, otherwise.
Blaming Reimer?
I missed the game Friday but, I caught the game in 6. I wouldn't say any of those goals were soft. The guy was out well over a month. I want to give him more than 3 games before I give up on him, and hand the reigns to Gustavsson full time.
For me, I don't find a lot wrong w/ his game right now, other than starting a little shaky. He will work it out in practice, and find that comfort level he is used to playing at.
Sunday, 11 December 2011
Wednesday, 7 December 2011
Picking the Bones of the Losers and Underachievers
Picking the bones of the losers and underachievers.
Looking at the league standings, and predicting who the sellers are going to be in the next couple months, I'm starting to look at their rosters to see if there's an upgrade, or potential big deal to be made to bring in a piece, or pieces to improve the Leafs for the remainder of this season, and going into next. This will be not so much players I think will become available, as players I think Burke should ask about.
Barely holding on...
Carolina
Anaheim
NYI
Clb
Likely in tough
Calgary
Colorado
Nashville (maybe)
Tampa
NJ
Montreal (maybe)
Personally, I see Montreal fading further. However, they're not likely a trading partner for Burke. Tampa out of the "in tough" group, I think has the biggest chance to improve, if they can solve their goaltending and D issues.
Who might interest Burke?
Carolina Tim Gleason, Chad LaRose
Really for me, Gleason is the only player I see w/ any value in any possible deal. Bob Mac mentioned the possibility of both Eric Staal and, Cam Ward being available, only bc they may have to consider the positives of dealing either player, being a budget team. So maybe Burke kicks the tires on Staal, but that's where I think talks w/ Carolina would end.
NYI Matt Moulson, Travis Hamonic, Josh Bailey.
I would love to see Burke try to pry Hamonic away from the Islanders. I still see tons of upside in him, and think he just needs the right environment. Moulson is another guy I could see become available, obviously for the right price. But 3 million for a guy who's going to put up another 30 plus goal season, I'd hope Burke asks.
Tampa Bay Steve Downie, Adam Hall
I would be interested to see Downie in a Leafs uniform. I think we lack that edge he brings. Even a guy like Armstrong is a pest, but I like the line Downie walks all over. Adam Hall might be worth a look as a bottom six winger. He's a UFA this summer, though.
NJ Zach Parise, David Clarkson
Obviously Burkes going to ask about Parise, everybody is. He's having a shit season so far, but I think you're going to see him get hot soon (contract year). This would be the blockbuster everybody's hoping for. Or at least it seems "everybody" is. Burke wouldn't make a deal w/ out a contract though. At least that's what I believe.
Columbus RJ Umberger
There's not much to pick over here. Maybe Burke asks about Nash, but I don't see it. That's a HUGE contract to take back, on a player that isn't producing like he should. Umberger, a guy Burke and Wilson are familiar w/ would better suit anything Burke is looking for. I expect interest would be very light, to say the least.
Anaheim (quack) Bobby Ryan, Ryan Getzlaf, Corey Perry
Why not ask about all of them? Me, if I'm Burke, I throw out a list of players names, say mix and match, lets make a deal. Who knows what happens, but it's definitely worth looking into for either three.
Calgary Jarome Iginla, Curtis Glencross
You ask about Iginla, just because you should. But I don't see Burke spending on a veteran like Iggy right now. Perhaps I'm wrong, and Burke looks at Iggy, like he looked at Selanne in Anaheim? But w/ Glencross, there's a guy I'd have some serious interest in. Not "blow up the farm team" interest. But I'd ask, and keep asking until I get to a price I think is fair. But after Calgary got raped by Burke in their last deal, I doubt they'd do anything less than an extreme overpayment on any other deal.
Colorado Paul Stastny
I think if Bozak wasn't playing as well as he is, Burke would have more interest in Stastny. But w/ Kadri developing well, Colborne looking like he's close to being a top six forward in the NHL, and Bozak meshing well w/ Lupul and Kessel, I doubt Burke has the same interest in the underachieving center.
Nashville Ryan Suter, Shea Weber
Nashville is a budget team that has to make a tough decision this year. Regardless of them being a playoff team or not, Poile has to decide on dealing one, or both of these players. I'm personally not convinced either player will stay in Nashville. With them there, they can remain a competitive, but not Stanley Cup calibre team. But do either player want to remain in that situation? Perhaps, w/ Rinne re upping, there's a chance one will decide to stick around. Either way, Burke will be talking to Poile.
So there's my list of who I think Burke will, or should be asking about. Other notable players could be the obvious in Kyle Turris. But Phoenix doesn't have to make that decision now. And may not make sense to, when probable relocation is just around the corner.
Monday, 5 December 2011
Ron Wilson Is A Liar, And That's OK.
Damien Cox thinks we care, but we don't. Fans of the Leafs want the coach and GM to be the buffer between the media, and the players. We don't look at he (Cox) and his colleagues as a voice of the fans, like he would assume himself as. Especially in this day of text message, twitter, blogosphere mass communication overload. We fans are tuned in, and connected better than we ever were.
The point of all of this is that we don't want the coach to be 100% honest. We want Wilson to make the decision on what he believes is in the best interest of the team, and follow through on it.
So Damien, stop crying about dishonesty. Stop pretending like Toronto is some special case, and this happens no where else. And stop acting like the media, and the fans are entitled to complete transparency. And mostly, just get the fuck over yourself
The point of all of this is that we don't want the coach to be 100% honest. We want Wilson to make the decision on what he believes is in the best interest of the team, and follow through on it.
So Damien, stop crying about dishonesty. Stop pretending like Toronto is some special case, and this happens no where else. And stop acting like the media, and the fans are entitled to complete transparency. And mostly, just get the fuck over yourself
Re Re Introduction
Ok, well I'm attempting what will be my third (I think third) blog start up in the last year, maybe more. So much of this past year has been a blur, mostly due to my work schedule. That likely won't change, so my entries will be as frequent, or as infrequent as a New York Islanders win. Ok, maybe more frequent than that.
I'll blog mostly Leafs. But I'll likely also touch on NHL, and general hockey matters when I feel it's worth the time.
A little on myself...
My name you likely know, if you follow me through twitter @LeafErikson you've looked at my profile, it's there. I'm not a "local" Leaf fan, as I live on Vancouver Island, in Victoria. My job with the Navy brought me out here in 2003. And aside from the year and a half I spent between Saskatoon, and back home in Drumbo Ontario, I've lived here (Victoria) since. I'm an avid fan of the sport, and I attempt to apply common sense to my opinions. But hey, I'm a fan first, and I don't try to hide my bias. I'm not trying to earn browny points for impartiality. So when push comes to shove, I'll more than likely side with whatever favours the Leafs. Hey, I'm only human.
So please, leave comments, disagree (in a respectful manner), agree, rebut etc. Follow me on twitter @LeafErikson Or, you can add me to facebook.
I'll blog mostly Leafs. But I'll likely also touch on NHL, and general hockey matters when I feel it's worth the time.
A little on myself...
My name you likely know, if you follow me through twitter @LeafErikson you've looked at my profile, it's there. I'm not a "local" Leaf fan, as I live on Vancouver Island, in Victoria. My job with the Navy brought me out here in 2003. And aside from the year and a half I spent between Saskatoon, and back home in Drumbo Ontario, I've lived here (Victoria) since. I'm an avid fan of the sport, and I attempt to apply common sense to my opinions. But hey, I'm a fan first, and I don't try to hide my bias. I'm not trying to earn browny points for impartiality. So when push comes to shove, I'll more than likely side with whatever favours the Leafs. Hey, I'm only human.
So please, leave comments, disagree (in a respectful manner), agree, rebut etc. Follow me on twitter @LeafErikson Or, you can add me to facebook.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)