Tuesday, 31 January 2012

Jonas Gustavsson: The Flake

Here's my problem with Jonas Gustavsson. The dude's a FLAKE!

It's much of the same we've often seen from "The Monster". He makes big saves, and blows the collective minds on saves no goalie has any business saving. And yet, he flakes out, and often allows a bad goal, or two a game. This explains a lot, and in why it took him so long to win a game in the league, without 4 or more goals in his favour.

On this night, he wasn't good. Three questionable goals, one of which was particularly frustrating, allowed the Penguins back into a contest in which they had zero business being in. The third goal, scored on a scramble in front of Gustavsson, could have easily been smothered, whistle blown, and a faceoff to his left. But instead of covering the puck, he attempted to casually scoop up the puck. That gave the Penguins time to keep the puck alive, and stuff it in for the 4-3. That goal made it possible for the Penguins to tie the game on a flukey goal by Malkin (deflected in off his arm/shoulder). The problem with Gustavssons poor play, is keeping a good team like Pittsburgh in a game like that, you know it will come back to haunt you.

Now I'm not completely down on Gustavsson. He has performed admirably in January and, deserves part of the credit for keeping the Leafs in the playoff picture. But I stress only part of the credit. Much of the credit should go to a Leafs penalty kill that (since December 31st), has not allowed a goal against.

Until Gustavsson can improve his focus in game, and clean up those goals that stink to high heaven, he is not a number one goalie in this league. The man has all the skill in the world but, he's just not focused enough to maintain a high level of play.

Wednesday, 4 January 2012

Lupul Leafs MVP?

Many would say the Leafs MVP to this point in the season would obviously go to their most gifted player, Phil Kessel. But if you're a fan who's not just looking at the stats sheet, but has had a chance to watch nearly every game, you might suggest it's not so clear cut.

Just one example from tonight, the games first goal. A soft, and I would say suspect goal, after a turnover in the Leafs zone, early in the first put the Leafs down 1-0 early. This could have been a deflating early deficit. Lupul responded not long after, and finished the night with four points.

Joffrey Lupul, once considered a salary dump in the trade that sent Francois Beauchemin to the Ducks (the trade that also gave the Leafs Jake Gardiner), has managed to surprise everyone by keeping pace w/ the teams "franchise forward", Kessel.  And in doing so, has also managed to be the leagues most consistent forward, managing at least a point in 31 of his 39 games played.

Part of what makes Lupul such an important player, and has kept him consistent this season, has been his play around, and in front of the net. For a team that has always looked for that player to stand in front, take a beating, and work for the tip in, Lupul has been the teams best player at doing so. He also can be credited w/ doing much of the yeomans work on the first line, which has seen either Tyler Bozak or, Tim Connolly as it's center. Many of that line (and Kessels) goals have come off of hard work done by the Fort Saskatchewan native.

Now I won't argue Lupul is the Leafs best player. At least not from an overall skill point of view. But, he definitely has been the Leafs most consistent player and, perhaps the teams hardest worker. And I am confident to say, the Leafs MVP to date.