I haven't done this in some time, so I'm going to just start off by stealing a page from Eliot Friedman. But instead of 30, I'm going to post like 3 or 4 thoughts.
1. The Shanahan Hiring.

I didn't know what to think of this to start with, honestly. Sure, I'm open to the idea, mostly because at this point, what can it hurt? The Leafs have gone the inexperienced rout before with JFJ. Tho not a good outcome when it came to doing what his boss asked him to do (make the playoffs now), he did have some success in the draft. And, supposedly, he wanted to rebuild earlier than was eventually started under Burke. But that's neither here nor there, we're here to talk about Shanahan. And back to Shanahan, he doesn't have experience as a GM. But, he does have league executive experience. And he's watched a crap ton of games over the last 4 years. He also has I'm sure a decent repertoire with his peers, I am sure. So why not? Who's to say we can't catch lightning in a bottle with the Irish lad from Mimico? And he seems to be more open minded toward advanced metrics than his subordinates. So that should give that little part of the hockey world/Leafs Nation some piece of mind. Or at least a reason to breathe.
2. Coaching.
I'm positive Carlyle is done. Tho, unlike a lot of people who will probably read this, I don't wholly blame Randy for what happened. I won't start outlining why I like him as a coach, so I'll end this with simply that it's probably the right choice to have him move on.
As to his replacements, I have a few in mind.
One, Barry Trotz. The man has had a long career already, coaching 15 years for the Nashville Predators. He has had his ups and downs with that club. But one thing he always had in Nashville seemed to be the ear of his players. And a system that had them regarded as a stifling defensive team.After watching this team, especially this season, it seems like Trotz is exactly the coach these players need. Not all of these players, mind you. Clearly there needs to be some changing of the guard at the player level, too.
Two, Kevin Dineen. Here's a guy I think got wrongly blamed for the failures he had in Florida. An under funded roster, young, and weak in goal. Disinterested veterans who are there, like many people in their twilight, to simply watch their remaining years go by without much fuss (like a playoff berth would be). And it's not like their fortunes improved after firing Dineen. Florida still managed to be pitiful enough to wind up drafting 1st overall this June. Dineen meanwhile, took over as head coach of the Womens Hockey team for the Olympics, and won gold. This is a smart coach, who when given the talent, has been successful. He coaches a strong, high pressure game. He wants the puck on his players sticks. Advanced stats guys should have a hard on for a coach like Dineen. The only question I have is with how he approaches his players. But Dineen was a widely respected player. And from what I can tell, the same is true as a coach.

Lastly, Kirk Muller. Muller has been coaching in Carolina for the past three years, and now is waiting on word of his future with the team. There have been reports lately he may be let go. If he is, he makes my short list for coaching candidates. This is a smart guy who is known to be a players coach. Tho this season has seemed that reputation has gotten away from him. This is a guy who was by all accounts, a difficult man to play against. He was both a goal scorer, and a hard working role player. So surrounding him with players like Alexei Semen, and the Staal boys (both of which I am not a fan of), who seem to be interested in their off season more than holding off on tee times, and a goalie who seems to be trying to find himself since 2009, and you have a problem even the worlds best coaches would have a hard time fixing. And that's to say nothing of their defense. But he's a guy who, when his message is getting across, knows what he's doing. This is also a guy Shanahan knows well. So it's safe to say, if Muller became available, I'm sure he's getting a phone call.
Honourable mention to guys like Peter Laviolette, Dave Lowry (former teammate of Shanahan), Travis Green, Steve "Stumpy" Thomas who is an assistant in Tampa.
3. Adding the Big Piece.

Part of me wants them to take a patient approach this summer. The other side of me says "screw that", it's time to go get something shiny. And if any of the rumours are even the slightest bit true, Shanahan and co. had best be pumping and kicking all of the tires on Shea Weber. This is a bonafide, top two or three defenseman in the world, and has been for some time. This is a game changer for the Leafs. As big as Chara going to Boston, or Thornton to San Jose. This is a guy who, almost on his own, makes the Leafs a contender. This is no slight to Dion Phaneuf, who I think is a great player in his own right. But Weber is just that much better. I'm not going to throw out trade proposals, because I find no matter what, you always end up looking rather stupid. But I will say, there isn't really anything on the current roster I would't include. I would have a very difficult time seeing a kid like Rielly go, because what he will be is so unknown *mystery box*. However, common thought seems to be it would be very difficult to match anything the Flyers might offer. If that's the case, I'm happy to move on with whatever plan Shanny may have. But imagine, Shea Weber... It would be difficult not emptying the wallet to make that happen.
That seems to be all I have for tonight/today. Hopefully you enjoyed my rantings. Even if you didn't, I would love to hear why not. So comment, either here, or on twitter.
Follow me on twitter.
@LeafErikson