To continue my evaluation of the 2014-2015 Leafs, as they stand right now, I believe their chances for making the playoffs are good. Not great, just OK (sorry, Randy). The East is still the weaker little brother to the West. And in that, the chances, even if mathematically they are worse in the East, are better due to the fact there's no clear elite Eastern divide like there is in the West. Boston still remains the cream of the crop, and deserves to be spoken of in the same breath as the Chicago's, LA's, and Anaheim's of the world. But in the East, they are on an island. Maybe Montreal and New York eventually deserve that same recognition, but they'll need more than one deep playoff run to convince me (and I think anyone else who's paying attention), of that. So as it stands, I honestly don't believe the Leafs are that far off the rest of the playoff pack. And could easily be in, as much as they could be picking in the top ten again, next spring.
Line combos.
Until someone else supplants him, I don't believe Tyler Bozak is going anywhere other than the first line, with his mates James van Riemsdyke, and Phil Kessel. There's much to be desired there as a mach up for other top lines, but on a pure offensive measure, there are also few lines in the league as lethal as the Leafs "top" line. The problem with the Leafs roster as it stands right now, if the JvR, Bozak, Kessel line isn't matching up against other teams top lines, then who is? The overall lack of a match up center is a big problem for this roster. I'm not confident you can rely on Kadri for big minutes in that regard. So is a third line of Holland/Santorelli flanked by Komarov, and perhaps Clarkson going to get it done? Holland had a strong playoffs, but is yet to prove he's a capable, two way NHL center. And Santorelli is a good energy guy, decent in the dot, but asking him to match up vs the Malkin's, Crosby's, Stamkos' and Tavares' of the world is simply not fair. This is shaking up to be a big question mark coming into the 2014-2015. And something that could ultimately define the Leafs season. The overall depth at center isn't terrible. But it's not good, either. Offense shouldn't be a problem, but keeping the puck up the ice, and out of the Leafs net likely will be.
As I see it, the Lines should work out as...
JvR Bozak Kessel
Lupul Kadri Frattin/Clarkson
Komarov Holland/Santorelli Frattin/Kontiola/Clarkson
Ashton Holland/Santorelli Frattin/Kontiola
Bodie
And, I haven't included him, but I should mention I do believe there's a small chance 1st round pick from this past draft, William Nylander, could at least see himself get into a few games, if not the whole 9 to start the season. If not, I expect he starts the year with the Marlies, and likely plays the full season with them.
The Defense.
This is where I see the biggest improvement. Like management has said, it's not that the players are necessarily better, but the mix makes a lot more sense. Bringing in right handers Robidas and Polak has made it possible to keep kids like Rielly and Gardiner on their strong side. And, moving out Gunnarsson has opened a spot for one of the two kids to move up and play big minutes with Dion Phaneuf. I believe having a strong skating, puck carrying defenseman like Rielly or Gardiner with Dion will make his life much easier. He should spend less time in his zone defending, and more time moving the puck up ice. The big question then becomes, what of Cody Franson? He has filed for arbitration, so his future until that is done, or he signs, won't be decided. Despite managements assertion that they would prefer to keep Franson, the contrary seems to be true, due to the fact they've already attempted to move him in a deal that would have sent Montreal defenseman Josh Gorges to Toronto, had he not nixed the deal due to his feelings regarding donning the Leafs jersey (enjoy Buffalo, Josh). I suppose this doesn't mean they wouldn't consider keeping him, but they where do you play him? Other than moving Dion over to the left side, there aren't really any options. And I'm a firm believer Cody Franson is not a top pairing defenseman. So the only logical course would be to deal him. So do they deal him for another D, who could play the left side on the 2nd or 3rd pairing? Or for a depth forward/prospect or two? Or just futures in the way of a draft pick? I personally see his value as a late 1st, high 2nd round pick. I think the time to move Franson was at the draft, but I guess the Gorges trade is what probably got in the way of doing anything else regarding Franson. In lieu of adding another 2nd/3rd pairing D, I would be happy to see one of Percy or Finn get a chance coming out of camp. That would see the D shape up as...
Rielly/Gardiner Phaneuf
Gardiner/Rielly Robidas
Finn/Percy Polak
Address the need for a defenseman later, if it's clear Percy or Finn are not ready for the role. But I'm a believer in both of these young D men, and I think both are ready for the jump. Finn may benefit more from a full season in the AHL, but I don't see why Percy can't take a regular shift playing 15 or more minutes a night.
Goaltending.
I don't see anything changing here. Yes, Reimer has requested a trade, but why should the Leafs trade him? I don't believe Reimer is the type of player to make waves if he isn't dealt, so there should be no rush to make the deal until someone offers fair value. And as it stands, the options to replace him are just not very good.
Bernier
Reimer
As I already stated, I think this is a capable roster that is thin at center, and a bit green on defense. But overall, I think they're capable of competing in the East. I like the depth that was added to the bottom half of the lineup. Getting away from 3-4 minute a night goons will help them roll 4 lines, and add depth scoring. But the overall depth, especially at center, is one or two injuries away from Connor McDavid territory. And who knows, if the mix is wrong again, it may not matter if they stay healthy.
No comments:
Post a Comment